Northumberland Food for Thought

Northumberland Food For Thought brings together school and community resources so that children and youth have increased access to safe, nutritious and personally acceptable food that will optimize learning.

We do this by promoting student nutrition, supporting and assisting current and future school nutrition programs, co-ordinating business and community involvement, establishing collaborative networks, and working to eliminate barriers to student nutrition.

Our programs enjoy the support of approximately 250 volunteers per year. Last year these dedicated people contributed over 45,000 hours to Northumberland Food For Thought, helping to raise funds, plan, prepare and serve 457,985 breakfasts and 779,180 snacks.

We are grateful to our numerous partners and donors, who include:

Community support has always been an important factor in ensuring the success of Northumberland Food For Thought.  We would like to recognize and thank the following organizations for their generous support.

Cameco Corporation
Growing Together Team - St. Andrew's United Church, Grafton
Kawartha Credit Union
Northumberland ATV Riders
Mazon Canada
The Ministry of Children and Youth Services

County schools also receive donation from parent councils and smaller local businesses.  Thank you to everyone who supports School Nutrition Programs.

To find out more about nutrition, including information on snacking, dental health, and teaching our children to accept their body size, please call the Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge Health Unit at 1-866-888-4577, or visit the HKPR website.







Participating Schools:

  • Beatrice Strong PS, Port Hope
  • Burnham PS, Cobourg
  • Colborne PS, Colborne
  • C.R. Gummow PS, Cobourg
  • Dr. M.S. Hawkins Sr. PS, Port Hope
  • Ganaraska Trail Public School
  • George Hamilton PS, Port Hope
  • Grafton PS, Grafton
  • Grant Sine PS, Cobourg
  • Hastings PS, Hastings
  • Hillcrest PS, Campbellford
  • Kent PS, Campbellford
  • North Hope Centennial PS, Campbellcroft
  • Northumberland Hills Public School, Castleton
  • Notre Dame Elementary School, Cobourg
  • Notre Dame Catholic School
  • Percy Centennial PS, Warkworth
  • Plainville PS, Gores Landing
  • Roseneath Centennial PS, Roseneath
  • Smithfield PS, Smithfield
  • Spring Valley PS, Brighton
  • Stockdale PS, Stockdale
  • Terry Fox PS, Cobourg
  • Campbellford District HS, Campbellford
  • Cobourg District Collegiate Institute East - T.E.A.M
  • Cobourg District Collegiate Institute West, Cobourg
  • East Northumberland Secondary School, Brighton
  • Port Hope HS, Port Hope
  • Campbellford Centre for Individual Studies, Campbellford
  • Northumberland Centre for Individual Studies, Cobourg
  • St. Anthony's Elementary School, Port Hope
  • St. Joseph's Elementary School, Cobourg
  • St. Mary's Secondary School, Cobourg
  • St. Mary's Elementary School, Grafton
  • St. Mary's Elementary School, Campbellford
  • St. Michael's Elementary School, Cobourg